Welcome Anonymous!
We host quality Star Wars sites - inquire at The Star Wars Rebellion Network  
SW:Rebellion Network
imminent-bean
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:42 am 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 97
Is it possible to program code into the game that alters models (like combining vertices and edges) so that certain models would have a lower poly count? I'm not sure what this would do to lag though. Having to watch every model/object's distance from the camera may end up taking as much memory as any other method.

Anyway, with code that would automatically cut triangles off the model, you could have high-res models up close, and then very far away there could be models with only 6 triangles, then just about every extreme in between.

Ex:

20m away: 500+ polys
100m away: 200-500 polys
250m away: 80-200 polys
350m away: 25-80 polys
500+m away: 25- polys

note: I'm just learning to program games like this, so if I saw something that is either really simple (like the LOD thing I said before) or something totally outrageous, please tell me. All I'm trying to do is think of concepts that maybe nobody else has thought of before, however unlikely that is to happen...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:25 am 
Offline
Dark Lord of the Sith
Dark Lord of the Sith
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 3173
Location: USA
You can generate different details of polys through a Geometry shader
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geometry_shader

All of this isn't new, most games do them but it isn't exactly easy.

_________________
Evaders99
Image Webmaster
Image Administrator

Fighting is terrible, but not as terrible as losing the will to fight.
- SW:Rebellion Network - Evaders Squadron Coding -
The cake is a lie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:50 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 97
Ok then... :oops:

I learn something new everyday. For some reason, it never comes from my schooling -_-

So now I'm interested in how many triangles did that Star Destroyer have in the 10,000 VSDs pic? And, what would be the most detailed amount of triangles that around 3,000 models on screen could have? (including particle effects, textures, lighting and shading, and sounds)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:14 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
Evaders99 wrote:
You can generate different details of polys through a Geometry shader
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geometry_shader

All of this isn't new, most games do them but it isn't exactly easy.


Geometry shaders require extra processing time during rendering and newer graphics cards. I believe that the usual way of doing this is having multiple models stored in video memory and simply swapping them as needed. Also sprites are often used for models that are really far away (see Total War). These low detail models could be automatically generated at the start of the game, but this needs some decent algorithm.

And as for triangle nubers..imho LOD tries to hide invisible details. So that shapes or curves that are rendered into one pixel (or otherwise indistinguishable) are merged together, detail "popping" is undesired artifact after all.

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:13 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 97
Moribundus wrote:
Geometry shaders require extra processing time during rendering and newer graphics cards. I believe that the usual way of doing this is having multiple models stored in video memory and simply swapping them as needed. Also sprites are often used for models that are really far away (see Total War). These low detail models could be automatically generated at the start of the game, but this needs some decent algorithm.


That is what I've decided to do for Dominance. The EaW-style battles will use lower detail models while the Battlefront-style ones use higher detail. Then the far away objects will use low (very low) detail models. I haven't thought about using sprites though. But everything in Dominance is basically in constant motion so how might that work?

Moribundus wrote:
And as for triangle nubers..imho LOD tries to hide invisible details. So that shapes or curves that are rendered into one pixel (or otherwise indistinguishable) are merged together, detail "popping" is undesired artifact after all.


So, is LOD something I have to learn to code myself, or does the graphics card or the code do it for me? Sorry for the stupid question, I just really don't know..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:07 am 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:19 am
Posts: 108
Pretty sure LOD is handled by the graphics card. Once you set it up does it automattically... could be wrong though


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:08 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
No, graphics card knows nothing about higher level abstractions above data (like LOD, animations, etc.) These must be managed by the 3d engine.

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New total of ships and fighters for a Rebellion Remake?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:52 am 
Offline
<!-- Sergeant //-->

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 71
Hm... unless you're changing the game in more ways than I think you should, won't the galaxy size itself, I mean the maintenance possible to derive from planets, make sure that there aren't thousands of capital ships in a battle?

EDIT: never mind me, I guess if you're designing a moddable game, anything can happen.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

 
 
 
^Top 
Home Your Account Forums Downloads F.A.Q. Submit News Hosting Contact Us

© 1999-2008 by SWRebellion.com. All Rights Reserved.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters.
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

    Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group