Welcome Anonymous!
We host quality Star Wars sites - inquire at The Star Wars Rebellion Network  
SW:Rebellion Network
imminent-bean
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:35 am 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 128
So I am making a new batch of Exceptions specifically for the game. I get done with the invalid mission target exception, and it dawns on me. There's a bug in Rebellion.

When the player captures an enemy, he can ensure that the captured unit can never escape by having him and an agent constantly planet hopping. For instance, if I am an Imperial and I capture Han Solo, I could train up a new Commando and have them constantly in transit by moving them between planets 90 turns away.

So what can we do to fix this? Let me have some ideas here please :)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:45 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
This will be probably a bit off topic, but I think you're making the same mistake Rebellion devs did - you're abusing the framework too much. Win32API in their case, Java in yours. Don't. You're trying to make a game, not a new demo application for some kind of Java SDK.

Also you don't have to clone the game with all it's faults. Are you trying to create a sequel or a remake (why call it Rebelion 2 then)?

To your question:
1) what would prevent the imprisoned character from trying to escape (ok, the jailor :D)? But I meant that let's you imprison Vader and send him on a long jump. But he can still wipe out the ship's crew the second day of his incarceration and then just wait to emerge out of hyperspace and escape.
2) what about making espionage missions reveal not only inbound, but also (recently) outbound ships for a given system? If you played Frontier you might know what I have in mind. First you let your target get away, then find out where he went, grab a faster ship, get there before he does and wait for him to come out of hyperspace (and do what you came to do).

I would personally shun the idea of free travel in hyperspace and go for a graph of travel routes like E mentioned in your another thread. This would also effectively solve this jailer exploit :lol:

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 2:33 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 128
I see your point, but not to worry :P The exceptions are not the same as the exceptions built into java. They are necessary though. Having it throw an interrupt is much more efficient than having if/then statements. Furthermore if the exception is thrown I can have a constant response: for instance, a robot saying, "Can't do that, Mister!"

I like the second suggestion. I'll see if I can't pull that one off. *Hrmmz*


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:21 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
Speaking of efficiency, did you know that many game developers completely disable exceptions during compilation (in C++) due to the extra amount of code they require? There are some things the compiler does for you when you throw an exception (like stack trace) you have to take into account when judging their efficiency.

I'm not saying they're useless, just that they are more useful than effective.

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:44 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 128
Yes. That's why we only call exceptions under exceptional circumstances :P

It's also why I said they aren't quite like exceptions. I needed these interruptions to be an object so I could fit them into a cue (thus stream-lining the events in the game).

*Pokes* Why aren't you helping with the project anywho? We could use more programmers :P


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:03 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
Oh, you mean axception as a game event. My apologies then, I thought you were talking about the language construct :)

DavidAdas wrote:
*Pokes* Why aren't you helping with the project anywho? We could use more programmers :P


And why aren't you helping mine? I could use some help as well :P

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:04 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 128
Hrm. Didn't know you needed any. Message me with your project specs and all that and I'll see what we can do :D


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:19 am 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Death Stars are out at night, big and bright, deep in the heart of Texas.
DavidAdas wrote:
So I am making a new batch of Exceptions specifically for the game. I get done with the invalid mission target exception, and it dawns on me. There's a bug in Rebellion.

When the player captures an enemy, he can ensure that the captured unit can never escape by having him and an agent constantly planet hopping. For instance, if I am an Imperial and I capture Han Solo, I could train up a new Commando and have them constantly in transit by moving them between planets 90 turns away.

So what can we do to fix this? Let me have some ideas here please :)

There is a "bug" with your logic. I have used the "hyperspace dungeon" many, many times; but it is NOT 100% effective (just 99.9%). There is the chance (and it has happened to me) that when your jailer and prisoner finally arrive at their destination, the prisoner escapes! The prisoner has had plenty of time to work on an escape, but just needs the right opportunity to pull it off. So as you can see, the original developers have added an "out" to what you perceive as a "bug".

_________________
Finally, after years of hard work I am the Supreme Sith Warlord! Muwhahahaha!! What?? What do you mean "there's only two of us"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:20 pm 
Offline
<!-- Colonel -->

Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 505
I would suggest that each day there is a small chance for escape no matter if in hyperspace or not. If in hyperspace, the escaped character would go somewhat randomly to the nearest friendly controlled planet.

The factor if he is recaptured would be the guards. So it would be good to have a decent character to act as the jailor, and or a nice ship detection rating full of storm troopers who could recapture the escapee by chance of detection.

That way he would not have to wait for the ship to travel half way across the galaxy before he jumped ship. Used an escape shuttle, or maybe the guard and ship are just destroyed in the process of his escape. :D

That is what I am think of doing. I do agree, the infinite hyperspace travel is kinda lame exploit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:01 am 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 128
I may make it random as well. I just didn't want to go down that route because it may make it too annoying :P

"Damn I can't keep these guys for crap!"

Kinda might make capturing a waste of time. We'll see. I suppose that's still a ways down the road.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
<!-- Cadet //-->

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:33 pm
Posts: 2
i think the inclusion of a "prison" planet would be a nice approach using a neutral faction like Kessel once conquered all your prisoneers are sent there you get a lower upkeep and a bonus to economy as all those prisoneers are working in the spice mines the only bad point is that they must be now protected with a fleet as the opposition now knows exactually where they are

might be smart to have this as an auto effect as soon as its captured all prisoneers are auto transported to kessel


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Rebellion 2 Issue (Discuss!)
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:38 pm 
Offline
<!-- Colonel -->

Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 505
A good idea! :P


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
 
 
^Top 
Home Your Account Forums Downloads F.A.Q. Submit News Hosting Contact Us

© 1999-2008 by SWRebellion.com. All Rights Reserved.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters.
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

    Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group