Welcome Anonymous!
We host quality Star Wars sites - inquire at The Star Wars Rebellion Network  
SW:Rebellion Network
imminent-bean
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:26 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
This Thread is about that model I´ve began with Google SketchUp, like you can see here.

I will still need some help of you guys with this, though this is my first model and I have no clue how to texture and finally import it into the game.

So I´ve added further things to it and this is what it looks like right now:

Image

With colour:

Image

I´ve only coloured it, because I haven´t yet any good solution to texture it. There are a couple of textures in Google SketchUp, but none of them really fitted to the modell. I also tried to produce my own texture, but I couldn´t find out how to use it with that programm, so I´ve just coloured the model so far.

What is it all about the length of it? I mean, I don´t know how long it will appear in the game. This is just middle-sized ship, like fe. a carrier, so it shouldn´t be much bigger than a SSD. Do I have to adjust the length of that model or does it belong to the modell importer which slot I use for this? Thanks!

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:25 pm 
Offline
<!-- Major //-->
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 191
Location: Dark side of the Yavin moon.
Wow, looks nice.

I can't help you with texturing, but you don't have to worry about length (one particular dimension) of the model yet, just make sure it's proportions are correct. You can scale the model easily when it's finished.

_________________
-rebellion2 enthusiast-
Terra Reconstructed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:28 am 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:00 am
Posts: 2640
Location: The Great Bellow
Texturing usually involves adding/editing UV coordinates, and creating a texture to fit the UV coordinates.
UV coordinates are just used to set out the faces of your mesh onto a 2d plane. This plane (usually a square) is where the model takes texture data.
Never having used this google thing, I'm not sure how limited it is in texturing - but I'd assumed there'd be a lot of info available online. Try searching for: "texturing" "mapping" or "UV"/"UVW".

Side note to those interested, UV and UVW are just another set of axis like XYZ. As XYZ are used in a 3d environment to specify 3d objects, the texture coordinates get their own axis labelling to show that they're independant of one another. And you might have noticed that UVW comes before XYZ in the alphabet.

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:52 am 
Offline
<!-- Raporan Dark Lord //-->
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 12:00 am
Posts: 8298
Location: Switzerland
The problem with SketchUp is that the texturing capacities are VERY limited. I thing the best possibile route is to model in SketchUp and then texture using another software (maybe LithUnWrap).Because, sadly, SketchUp doesn't support UV coordinates.

_________________
Image
Image
CLICK HERE IT IS VERY IMPORTANT!!!
Click here is you like Trance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:31 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
Thanks so far.

Ok, so first I wanna check the size of that ship and compare it with the other models of SWR. In which folder can I find them?

@Mad
That other program you´ve mentioned, is that freeware?

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:58 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:00 am
Posts: 2640
Location: The Great Bellow
Can google sketchup import other files? If so, then I could email you a model I've used in Rebellion, and its size, for you to compare against. I'd just have to try and dig up those files :P

Lith Unwrap

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:17 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
That would be indeed very helpfull. Just sent you a pm. And thanks for the link. :D

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline
<!-- Lieutenant //-->
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 137
Location: Central New South Wales,Australia
probably a silly question but have you tried playing around in gmax ? could have a look at some basic textures and stuff then


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:47 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
So it turned out that you can´t use LithUnwrap for models which were created with Google Sketchup. Simply because LithUnwrap doesn´t support the format which GS exports its models. So no texturing yet. :?

@Colonel Olorin
No, I haven´t yet. Isn´t Gmax no freeware anymore? I don´t want to go too deep with modelling. I was just experimenting. So I would prefer to use some sort of freeware for that.

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:28 pm 
Offline
<!-- Raporan Dark Lord //-->
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 12:00 am
Posts: 8298
Location: Switzerland
What format did you export in? Make sure you select .3ds.

_________________
Image
Image
CLICK HERE IT IS VERY IMPORTANT!!!
Click here is you like Trance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:17 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
There´s just one way export a modell with Sketchup. That is in the .kmz-format which only can be used for google-earth maps. :?

But thanks to Colonel Olorin I´ve downloaded Blender. Gotta try if I´m able to cope with that program. :) :oops:

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Imperial Cruiser
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:17 pm 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2107
Sad but true, I stopped modelling, though first you can´t go very far with Google Sketchup and second it would take me too long to learn how Blender works, due to lack of time and patience. I also couldn´t import those models Krytos sent me to compare the sizes, because they aren´t supported by that program. So I leave it to those guys who are good in modelling. If you are interested in creating the model of the "Imperial Cruiser" here´s the original picture.

_________________
Who cares at all?! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

 
 
 
^Top 
Home Your Account Forums Downloads F.A.Q. Submit News Hosting Contact Us

© 1999-2008 by SWRebellion.com. All Rights Reserved.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters.
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

    Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group