Is it possible to mod DLL hardcoding(eg. character bonuses)?

GrandAdmiralJello

I made a previous thread on this, but it's disappeared--along with all my posts. Was there an accidental wipe of the board--I've noticed that there are a bunch of September threads, and then things from back in March?

Anyway.

As far as I'm aware, things like Luke and Leia's evasion Force bonuses or the Emperor's leadership bonus are hardcoded to their slots in the DLL. I imagine things like starting minor characters (e.g. Needa, Piett) are also hard-coded.

Now, playing around with the resource editor shows that each entry for things like the string for a character's name has a number in front it it. I suppose that's the reference for the "slot" of the character. If this is so, would it be possible to change the reference for these special abilities?

I'm new to editing Rebellion dlls, so I wouldn't know this or even where the special abilities are defined. Since there are a few people working on TCs out there, I imagine they've mastered everything that can be known about Rebellion editing. I also imagine that their TCs have needs that are different from the setup with the major characters as they are.

So would someone more knowledgeable about this matter shed some light on the matter? Is it possible to give different character slots (even minor characters) these special abilities? Is it possible to change which characters the game will automatically start with?

Your help is appreciated. Since my previous thread vanished, I wasn't able to see if I got any replies.

Hello.

I can tell u 2 things i've experienced about the ingame characters.

1. The major characters are their own abilities wich cannot be changed - perhaps their stats can be changed - raised or lowered by Rebed, i think.But we can use this abilities as we want. Example : in my Before the storm TC i've put Obi Wan in Leia's slot, and Leia i've put in Mothma's slot.