Star Wars: Rebellion [SWR]
http://forums.swrebellion.com/

Mechanics - inside Rebellion
http://forums.swrebellion.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=284
Page 7 of 7

Author:  errantone [ Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re:

Slocket wrote:
SYFCCRTB.DAT AND SYSFCRMTB.DAT

Contain the random seed generation tables of probabilities for ALL the planets that are Core or Rim systems. SYtem FaCility CoRe TaBle DATA.

These files do not change the number of mines or energy a planet start with. It does control the chances and how many of each one of these facilites a Core system or a Rim system will have and its Level. :P

Core

1: 0,0
2: 36%, 2, Refinery-45
3: 79%, 1, Shipyard-40
4: 82%, 2, Training-41
5: 85%, 3, Construction-42
6: 88%, 3, Shield-36
7: 96%, 2, Laser-35
8: 99%, 1, Ion-34

The LOWER the number to zero, the MORE in proportion of those that will be placed on a planet. For the Rim file the Refinery is set for 91%. It seems backwards. 91, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, no entry for ion cannon for Rim.

The second number controls what level of facility it is (same numbers as RebEd makes in hex files). Example change the first "3" for Contruction Yard to a "6" will make all planets random seeded Construction Yards to be the Advanced variety at game start. The formula is n=n+3 gives the advanced version. Advanced shipyard change the 1 to a 4. Advanced Training Yard change the 2 to a 5. Advanced Shield is change 3 to a 6, and advanced laser change 2 to a 5.

A core world can be any world that is marked as colonized. So if you use ReEd and make a Rim system colonized, then that planet will be just as developed as a Core system.

Small changes make a huge difference, but this can be used to alter the initial facility starting condition of the game.

I wonder which files holds the seed table data for the Political Favor and (planet mines/Energy).

I also like to change the Contruction, Training and such to their more Advanced version to help you and the AI and get the game going faster by changing the Family type using a hex editor. IE Have planet seed with Advanced Construction Yards instead of Normal Yards.

Of course making a nice user friendly Windows GUI to do this for people would be nice. I have not done that yet.


Thanks Slocket for posting the format info! I've updated SWRdataEditor BETA2 to allow changes to the above DAT files. See SWRDE thread for download link.

Author:  Slocket [ Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

I hope the above files do not generate a situation where the number of facilities exceed the Power total output of the planet. If I remember, it was always in proportion and adjusted itself somehow.

The only way I ever changed the total power output of a planet was editing the save game file.

I do not remember having any problems with editing those facility .dat files and causing a contridiction in the Power output of the planet.

Good job as always with the editor. :P

Author:  DIREWOLF75 [ Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

Quote:
The only way I ever changed the total power output of a planet was editing the save game file.

If you use Rebed or other to change the number of facilities on either side´s "starting base" you can get ridiculously high energy amounts, because the game automatically adjust to allow for all facilities. Tear them all down and the energy and resources remains. Let it run with zero facilities long enough and you´re likely to get the +energy or +resources event.

I usually play with Coruscant and Reb´s HQ somewhere around 20-40 energy. But i´ve tested it up over 60. Have found no problems with it. Also regardless of where the Alliance HQ is, the planet it started on keeps the extra energy and facilities after the HQ is moved.
And since the HQ can end up anywhere on the rim, there doesnt seem to be any technical limits.


And errantone, any chance that you will add the imperial random starting fleet file as well?
While i posted how to do it, its dreadfully easy to accidentally add a 0 to little or too much or put the right number shifted a byte or two, and the game certainly doesnt like THAT much. :mrgreen:

Author:  errantone [ Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

Quote:
And errantone, any chance that you will add the imperial random starting fleet file as well?

Sure, I'll see if I can make some time this weekend. It's good to know someone (besides me) is actually using the program.

How easy/difficult was it to use the program for editing the rebellion? I struggled with a few different attempts to make the UI flexible while still enforcing the limitations of the game. The UI was easy for me, since I wrote it, but am not sure how easy it is for others to use.

(update10/24): I'll get to this as soon as I can. It might not be for a few more weeks. Busy with another project for a while.)

Author:  SnowStyle [ Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

Hello, i'm new here and new on this game, did discover it recently while i was trying a bunch of oldies, pretty good game btw
I have been annoyed by some random event on one game and did want to revert the effect, so i have been reading about savegame editing on this board (thanks to DarthTex's works) and been able to restore back my planet (yeah i cheated :mrgreen: )

Now i am interested of all data who can be edited (.dat mostly), to explore possibilities, that's why i'm posting here i think it's the main thread about data structure, so that's a Bump

So after reading this thread and checking a .dat file to try to understand how things work, i have now a question, i don't know if somebody already explained this or not

Where is the data who links items to their pictures ?
I mean, when we analyse a file like PROFACSD (probably the smallest file :lol: ), we have some parameters about Mine and Refinery, but i don't see a link (ID) to the picture file, it is strange because there is an ID to strings file (textstra.dll), but where is the ID who link to GOKRES.DLL ? i'm looking for a way to relink the Mine object to display Refinery picture in game by altering only one parameter in any editable file, is this possible ? (there is no point in swapping pictures, i'm just interested in the method to do this of course)

Here is the structure of the Mine from profacsd in case i've missed it (did not find anything new, just used Vakundok's works)

01 00 00 00 ID
01 00 00 00 Active Flag
2A 00 00 00 ?
2B 00 00 00 ?
2C 00 00 00 ? Production Type Identifier ?
01 20 02 00 2001=8193 -> "Mine" from textstra.dll | 02 = ?
01 00 00 00 Alliance
01 00 00 00 Empire
06 00 00 00 Cost
00 00 00 00 Maintenance
00 00 00 00 Research Order
00 00 00 00 ? Research Difficulty ?
05 00 00 00 ?
05 00 00 00 ? Rate of Production ?


I suppose i might not get any answers for a while since this game is old and people have interest for it from time to time i guess :D
So i will continue my investigation

Author:  DarthTex [ Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

SnowStyle wrote:
Where is the data who links items to their pictures ?
I mean, when we analyse a file like PROFACSD (probably the smallest file :lol: ), we have some parameters about Mine and Refinery, but i don't see a link (ID) to the picture file, it is strange because there is an ID to strings file (textstra.dll), but where is the ID who link to GOKRES.DLL ? i'm looking for a way to relink the Mine object to display Refinery picture in game by altering only one parameter in any editable file, is this possible ? (there is no point in swapping pictures, i'm just interested in the method to do this of course)

Although I haven't tried changing the GUI (you'll probably get better answers from Mr PhilDevil or somebody who worked on Rebellion Reloaded), I don't believe you will find a single link to automatically change all mines or refineries in a single stroke. I believe each "icon picture" is individually made/placed when put on the screen. If you scan through all of the images in GOKRES you'll see; but where all this info gets linked ... I don't know (I'll guess and say hard coded into the program).

Not sure if that helped, but this is an old game :wink:

Author:  Windfield [ Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mechanics - inside Rebellion

Hi there

Long time lurker here.

I am trying to make a small library in python that could help replace RebEd in future.
I have used the information on this thread to collect all the data in the .DAT files. THANKS FOR THAT!

I have a questions regarding textstra.dll and how to access the text inside it.

All the messages on this thread refer to this file very much in passing, mostly saying "- identifier (actually two WORDs, the second is allways 2, the first can be used as an entry to the name in Textstrat.dll)"
It makes it sound like getting that data is trivial, but I have not been able to figure it out.

However, I have been trying to load the library in my code to get the data out of the library without success.
Is there a function available within the library that can be called to get the names of the units using the first word of the identifier?
What if you want to change a name, how do you edit the data in the DLL?

Perhaps I'm making this more complex than it is. How are you guys getting your hands on this data?
How does RebEd does it?

Once I have proper headway on this side project I will share the code here.

Cheers

Luis

Page 7 of 7 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/