Welcome Anonymous!
We host quality Star Wars sites - inquire at The Star Wars Rebellion Network  
SW:Rebellion Network
imminent-bean
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Altering Available Starting Unit Types
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2020 10:48 pm 
Offline
<!-- Cadet //-->

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 10
So I'm working on my mod, I want to start with only unit type available. No problem doing this via RebEd. The problem comes in when the game starts and still uses the original values of what is available and of course places them randomly across controlled planets.

For example, if I wanted to only start with Stormtroopers, even though I have set the other 4 troops to requiring research and setting up Coruscant to have only Stormtroopers, I still get Fleet Regiments in random places at the start of the game.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Altering Available Starting Unit Types
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 9:23 am 
Offline
<!-- Warlord -->
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 1675
Location: Wisconsin
It seems possible, in theory, that you could find the .DLL or whichever of the EDATA or GDATA files governs initial setup, then remove the fleet regiments from said file. I haven't spent enough time messing with those files, however, so I can't point you to the proper location. If you're on Discord, I've gotten the impression that TruthRealm could likely point you in the right direction.

_________________
Chaos, Panic, Disorder, Destruction.....
My work here is done.

Grand AKmiral
Commander-in-Chief of BEAK Forces
(CINCBEAK) BEAK Imperium
"To BEAK is Divine!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Altering Available Starting Unit Types
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 9:59 pm 
Offline
<!-- Cadet //-->

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:19 pm
Posts: 10
Mitth_raw_nuruodo wrote:
It seems possible, in theory, that you could find the .DLL or whichever of the EDATA or GDATA files governs initial setup, then remove the fleet regiments from said file.


What is a good program to access something like that? I have limited coding experience and the programs I've been using so far are RebEd and ResHack.

I am on the Discord, I'll see if TruthRealm has better info on where that data might be located.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

 
 
 
^Top 
Home Your Account Forums Downloads F.A.Q. Submit News Hosting Contact Us

© 1999-2008 by SWRebellion.com. All Rights Reserved.
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters.
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php

    Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group